

FOURTEENTH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF BIRDLIFE TOWNSVILLE MINUTES

SATURDAY 8 MARCH 2025

Meeting Opened: 2.00 pm

Attendance: As per the Register

Apologies: Norm Rains

1. **Welcome:** The President of BirdLife Townsville, Janet Robino, declared the AGM meeting open and welcomed all Members, advising the AGM was rescheduled to March due to the extreme weather event occurring in February.

Minutes: Moved: Elna Kerswell Seconded: Barbara Reidy
 "That the AGM Minutes of Saturday 10 February 2024 (as circulated to all members) are a true and correct record."

Endorsed

3. Business Arising from Minutes: Nil

4. **Correspondence**: **Outward**: Birdlife Townsville re: 2024 AGM Minutes, 2025 AGM Agenda, AGM Nominations, Presidents Report, Treasurers Report and AGM Notifications as required by the Branch Rules (circulated to all members)

Inwards: Completed Nomination Forms for: President, Secretary, Treasurer and six (6) Committee Members

5. **Reports:** President: Janet Robino --- as circulated to all members

Treasurer: Nina Doyle --- as circulated to all members

Moved: Len Ezzy Seconded: Chris Corbett

"That the President's Report and the Treasurer's Financial Report as circulated to all members be received." **Endorsed**

6. **Election of Office Bearers and Committee:** The President thanked the outgoing 2024 Branch Committee for their tireless work on behalf of Birdlife Townsville and thanked those Members who volunteer to take on certain tasks e.g. Refreshments; News Letter; Leaders; Equipment; Photography Group and all the other various Branch activities.

The President Janet Robino declared all positions vacant, suspended Standing Orders and asked the Returning Officer, to conduct the election for Office Bearers and Committee Members for 2025

The Returning Officer advised one nomination for the following positions was received in accordance with the Rules and declared:

President:Janet Robinoduly elected.Secretary:Wal Threlfallduly elected.Treasurer:Nina Doyleduly elected.

Committee Members (6 required): Mark Horvath; Annette Sibson; Warren Charlton, Brigid Glass, Claire Willard, Mick Theobald duly elected.

Standing Orders were resumed and the President further advised that the following members had agreed to undertake the following duties:

- Newsletter Editor: Annette Sibson
- **Refreshment Coordinators**: Beth Snewin and Wendy Kaus
- **Equipment Coordinator**: Mark Horvath
- **Photography Group Coordinator:** Mark Horvath
- Leaders: Janet Robino (Town Common Conservation Park), Mark Horvath (Ross River Dam & Wetlands), Wendy Kaus (Ross River Bush Garden), Norm Rains (Wongaloo Conservation Park), Wal Threlfall (Monthly Outings) and other Members as required.
- 7. **Financial Accounts Signatories: Moved:** Mark Horvath **Seconded:** Beth Snewin "That the President Janet Robino, Secretary Wal Threlfall and Treasurer Nina Doyle of Birdlife Townsville, be the sole signatories to all Birdlife Townsville Financial Accounts". **Endorsed**
- 8. The President Janet Robino advised the attending members that Birdlife Townsville can only continue as a viable and active Branch if members are prepared to step forward and volunteer not only for the Committee but for various Branch activities.

9. Any Other Business:	
a) "The	e Quest" 2024 Draw and Presentation:
Quest	Winner: Anne Lawrance with 336 bird species.
Quest Draw Winner: Colton Tinkey	
10. 2026 AGM: Date and ve	enue to be advised in accordance with Branch Rules
11. Meeting Closed: 2.45p	m
12. Guest Speaker: 1) W	Val Threlfall re: "The Year in Review 2024 "
"Minutes of the Annual Ger	neral Meeting held Saturday 8 March 2025 are endorsed as a
true and accurate record."	
(Chair)	(Date)